The Biafra Flag

The Biafra Flag

Yaay!! I’m so happy, one of my favorite novels has been made into a movie and I’m talking about HALF OF A YELLOW SUN by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche. The Release date of this movie is 13th September 2013. Two things I’m crazy about : Good movies and Great Books!!

The movie is going to be awesome ( I have seen the preview) considering the number of international stars on it .. I can’t wait ..

SYNOPSIS:
The movie weaves together the lives of 4 people swept up in the turbulence of war. Olanna and Kainene are glamarous twins from a wealthy Nigerian Family returning to a privileged city life in newly Independent 1960’s Nigeria after their expensive English Education.
The two women make very differnt choices though and they eventually become caught up in the events of the Nigerian civil War, in which the Igbo people fought an Impassioned struggle to establish Biafra an independent Republic, ending in chilling violence which shocks the entire country and the world.

That’s just like the whole summary, I’m so attached to this book because I LOVE Chimamanda and probably because I’m IGBO.. 🙂
Well, the movie is Produced by : Andrea Calderwood and Directed by Biyi Bandele.

Actors/Actresses in it :

1) Genevieve Nnaji (Although I didn’t see her in the preview)

2) Hakeem Kae-Kazim (I’m impressed, he was in 24 and then “last flight to Abuja”)

3) Chiwetel Ejiofor

4) Thandi Newton ( Perfect, she was in Tyler Perry’s Good Deeds and For Coloured Girls)

5) OC Ukeji (our one time AMBO winner. He was in “White Waters and “Two Brides and a Baby”)

6) John Boyega

7) Anika Noni Rose

8) Zack Orji (:) )

9) Onyeka Onyewu

10) Gloria Young

11) Tina Mba.
…And hosts of others…

Now, while waiting for this Great, awesome Movie, Please go the nearest book shop and ask for a copy of “HALF OF A YELLOW SUN” by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche!!!!

XxxX 😀 🙂

a pix from the movie

a pix from the movie

