medical-negligence1
 

 

Been staring at my laptop…

Thinking of what to post today…

Waiting for inspiration…
Oh yes! I’ve gotten it… listen…
Please, what is it with our Medical Doctors of today? I mean where is that passion you see in their eyes as kids when they tell you “I WANT TO BE A DOCTOR WHEN I GROW UP”. Unfortunately, I have seen enough negligence from them to last me a year. Why am I saying this?
I was talking to a friend the other day and we were talking about this same negligence and she told me a story about an uncle of hers whose mum was so ill. The woman was rushed to the hospital and got better, all of a sudden she became so sick again and they went to ask for the doctor because they were still at the hospital. The doctor came in and didn’t even say a word to them, he just took his stuffs and left. He did that twice and so my friend’s Uncle freaked out – his mum was dying for crying out loud! He ran after the doctor and asked him why he didn’t attend to his mum, guess what the Doctor said? “Do you think your mum is going to survive this? She is going to die!” Her Uncle almost went mad after hearing the Doctor, his mum died and he has been sick of HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE since then. So what do you call this? I’m sure you are probably angry right now, cursing the doctor where ever he maybe. As for me, I hope his license has been removed. This is just like a tip of the iceberg. I could go on and on.
I was reading a John Grisham novel the other day, thanks to my 6months forced holiday, I’ve been doing a lot of John Grisham lately. So the name of this novel was THE APPEAL, and I just want to point out a negligence story from the book.
“A little boy was playing baseball with so much joy and enthusiasm when his friend mistakenly hit a bat on his forehead and he collapsed. He was rushed to the hospital and after all the necessary tests and scanning the Doctor who attended to him said it was a minor problem and that his parents should ensure he has a good rest. His parents were so grateful; at least it wasn’t what they were thinking. But letter that night their sweet son of just 10 became so dysfunctional, throwing up, shaking and all that stuff. His parents had to call the family doctor and he was rushed to another hospital. Fresh tests and scans were carried out, only for the Family Doctor to realize that the initial test and scan report given to them by the 1stDoctor was that of someone else and that was why he gave rest as the immediate solution. Whereas, the correct thing was to do surgeries to remove the blot clot in the brain of this poor child. Unfortunately, the damage had been done and this little baseball star was far from the hyperactive life of a 10 year old”
Yeah, I know it is just a novel, but this sort of thing happens every day, everywhere. Negligence and pride is what I call it.
This is another real life story; a man died two days after Christmas. Why? Negligence! After the Lab had conducted tests on him, it was sent to the hospital by 6:30a.m. Christmas day, but at 7:30 a.m. on the 26th, they were not in his file.
I would like to see reforms in the medical profession, starting with medical school. Later when doctors go into practice, information about their malpractice cases should be posted on their office wall, right up there with their medical school certificates.
I REST MY CASE, just thought i should say something on this.
May God help us and our Doctors. AMEN.

