THE MIND IS A TERRIBLE THING TO WASTE…..

Michael J. Pittman

Recently, I was navigating my way through different scholarship sites online. I pay for school myself so I figured I’d get the ball rolling early. I was looking for money and financial aid, but while doing so, I stumbled upon this gem:

“A mind is a terrible thing to waste.”

This became the slogan for The United Negro College Fund in 1972, to inspire African Americans to pursue higher education. Since it began in 1944, The UNCF has helped over 400,000 African American students graduate from college, and has raised more than $3.6 billion dollars.

Needless to say, this organization is powerful.

But when looking at their tagline, that hyper analytic, philosophical being within me began to wonder: “What is a mind?”

People waste their minds, change their minds, and lose their minds all the time. But what’s really going on up there?

Well allow me to explain – if you don’t……

View original post 346 more words

