image

I made a decision. A decision to be brutally honest with my self. I used to have only one place where I could be really honest with my self – A BOOK, SOMEWHERE IN MY ROOM (Named Stella – In memory of my best friend…)
I needed a second place – MY BLOG (Named Adrielnaline – from my name, Adriel…)

Writing is my therapy. I never really understood it until few months ago. I have written so well in the last few months. Things I would never have written if I didn’t make writing my therapy.

So, since we are being all honest, let’s talk about bad habits! 

I have TWO bad habits that I’ve been battling with. Just so you know, I did some thorough soul searching and as far as I’m concerned I HAVE ONLY TWO BAD HABITS left to work on.

I. AM. SERIOUS.

I’m not perfect. I’m just perfectly flawed.

1) PULLING MY EYE LASHES!
I know what you are thinking now. Yeah, nobody does that. Only ADRIEL. I can’t really remember how and when and why it started. I just noticed that one day I woke up and all my eye lashes were gone. I was looking like an OWL!
I’ve tried so hard to stop it, but mehn……

I have battled with this thing. At a point I had to go online in search for “ASSOCIATION OF EYE LASH PULLERS” and to my surprise, I WASN’T THE ONLY ONE!

***phew!***

So I found that it was a “condition” – Trust ndi obodoyibo to give everything and anything a name.

They call it TRICHOTILLOMANIA.
(/ˌtrɪkəˌtɪləˈmeɪniə/trik-ə-til-ə-may-nee, also known as trichotillosis or hair pulling disorder). It is an Impulse Control Disorder characterized by the compulsive urge to pull out one’s hair, leading to hair loss and balding, distress, and social or functional impairment.
Trichotillomania is defined as a self-induced and recurrent loss of hair. It includes the criterion of an increasing sense of tension before pulling the hair and gratification or relief when pulling the hair.

Trichotillomania is often not a focused act, but rather hair pulling occurs in a “trance-like” state. Other individuals may have focused, or conscious, rituals associated with hair pulling, including seeking specific types of hairs to pull, pulling until the hair feels “just right”, or pulling in response to a specific sensation. (I don’t want to bore you with too much medical grammar).

IT’S A REALLY SERIOUS PROBLEM FOR ME NOW.

I try to restrain my self when ever I feel the urge to pull them off, it works for a while…I see them growing again, I’m happy…and KABOOM!!!…I’m back to looking like an OWL.
And the whole cycle continues.
In order to cover this up, I do the whole smoky eyes thing with my black eye shadow or I just stick to my MOTHER HER FRAMES, making a conscious effort not to remove them until I get to my room.

The struggle is real. I believe I’ll over come this habit. I’m trying so hard. Like why won’t I have eyelashes????

Mum says it’s from THE PIT OF HELL!!! Hahahaha!!!

More than its a bad habit, it’s a serious medical condition. There are worse cases and scenarios.
Anyways, now we now it’s a medical condition and it goes from pulling off eyelashes to pulling off hairs on the entire skin. But I won’t get to that stage. AMEN.

If you have same problem, you are not alone sweetie and we can work our way around this.

Here are some links to help you with Trichotillomania.

A) http://www.uncommonhelp.me/articles/how-to-stop-pulling-out-your-eyelashes-eyebrows/

B) http://psychcentral.com/lib/compulsive-hair-pulling-understanding-and-treating-trichotillomania/

C) http://www.caloriecount.com/forums/motivation/please-help-nervous-habit

These should help. You may still want to carry out your own research. Just Google the word “Trichotillomania”.

Okay. I have written. Hopefully, coming out on my blog will make me more conscious.

2) COKE! COKE! COKE!

image
Coca-Cola really made a hell of money with the name tagging business. I made it a point to drink a bottle of coke with the name of ANYONE I knew. This pix was taken sometime in January and after a long search...I FOUND MY NAME. PET NAME.

I can’t even begin to explain my addiction to coke. In fact, I was sipping from the #50 coke bottle while I was writing this post.
I think I inherited this trait from my Father. Yeah, just so you know, bad habits could be passed down.
I made a decision few months ago not to take coke anymore and I stood by it. But then, exams came. I needed the sugar. There was no time to even boil hot water. I went back again to the coke addiction.

I have just one paper left. I’m really hoping I won’t be needing coke again after the exams.

I may WANT it. Lol

Basically, these are my struggles and battles.
What are yours? Have you had bad habits that you suddenly stopped? How did you stop them? And are you currently battling with any bad habit? Feel free to drop a comment and let’s see how we can overcome them together.

N/B: Ndi Obodoyibo means WHITE PEOPLE.

Love xoxo

Adriel©2015

