Kiran Ghandi was already scheduled to run the London marathon but got her period the night before the race and decided to run anyway …. without a tampon!
Ewwwwww! Ewwwwww! Just in case you don’t know what “Ewwwww” means… It’s the sound you make when you’re disgusted with something. An expression of disgust. So, Ewwwww! I FIND THIS DISGUSTING!

See what she said below:

As I ran, I thought to myself about how women and men have both been effectively socialized to pretend periods don’t exist. By establishing a norm of period-shaming, [male-preferring] societies effectively prevent the ability to bond over an experience that 50% of us in the human population share monthly. By making it difficult to speak about, we don’t have language to express pain in the workplace, and we don’t acknowledge differences between women and men that must be recognized and established as acceptable norms. Because it is all kept quiet, women are socialized not to complain or talk about their own bodily functions, since no one can see it happening. And if you can’t see it, it’s probably “not a big deal.” Why is this an important issue? Because THIS is happening, right now.

My people, I’m really confused. It’s not like anyone stopped her from running because of her period. And who said people act as though periods do not exist?! Last time I checked, sanitary towels or tampons were sold for #200 but now they are sold for #220 or #250 and it’s really expensive as far as I’m concerned so WE KNOW IT EXISTS but do we go wearing our dresses without tampons to prove a point? NOOOO!

Do I have to put on a label on my head that reads : I’M ON MY PERIOD!
MOTHER RED IS HERE AGAIN?
MY MONTHLY VISITOR HAS COME AGAIN?

No! Because menstrual period is so damn personal.

Now if she was fighting for a cause I would have perfectly understood. PERIOD-SHAMING is not a CAUSE in the part of the world where she did her marathon.

In India, I know they have problems with women on their period. Sometime this year, Anisha Bhavnani an 18-year-old India girl was reprimanded for entering a temple while she had her period.

She went on to say :

In my friend’s family, when women have their period, they don’t enter the kitchen. They’re not allowed to cook. I know a family who doesn’t allow their maid to enter their house when it’s her time of the month. Recently, my aunt wanted me to attend a neighbor’s pooja — a type of Hindu prayer ritual — but the instant I told her I had my period, she asked me not to come. She told me that it’s disrespectful. I was shocked.

I hate this belief. I hate that women mindlessly follow it and men advocate it. Women are considered sick, impure and even untouchable when they’re having their period. So, God obviously hates me when I’m on my period because I can’t hang out with him in a temple. Food hates me, too, because I can’t enter the kitchen to spread butter on bread. I guess some people also hate me, because I can’t enter their house.

Women of India: The next time someone asks you not to go to temple or cook pasta when your red friend is visiting, ask them to take a hike. Ask them why they believe in such archaic customs. And if you’re a person who has been believing these sick rules for so long:

Shame on you for making women follow your Stone Age way of life and forcing them to feel different and abnormal because of a normal, healthy biological occurrence.

Women don’t contaminate an area or spiritual idea by bleeding. Menstrual blood is not dirty or impure. So if you still believe in your silly custom, I’m sorry, but no entering the kitchen or temple when you cut your knee on a sharp corner.

I refuse to be treated as less capable, weaker, dirty or impure for being a woman. God loves all his children: rich or poor, man or woman, menstruating or not. It’s high time we speak openly about menstruation in India, a country that truly needs to quash its taboos one at a time. I think talking and writing about it freely is the only way we’ll get it done.

I bleed. Deal with it.

The marathon runner also said :

“I ran with blood dripping down my legs for sisters who don’t have access to tampons and sisters who, despite cramping and pain, hide it away and pretend like it doesn’t exist. I ran to say, it does exist, and we overcome it everyday.” You go, girl!

Most of us ladies usually have menstrual cramps (AND IT HURTS SO BAD) but it’s not something we need to announce to the whole world. (Some extreme pains need announcement though). I’ve had stomach cramps at some point and when friends ask if it’s my period, I tell them YES. By friends, I mean male friends. Because there’s nothing to hide. Is there?
Some of my friends have gotten “stained” in class and some male course mates came to their rescue by offering them their blazers and all that or giving them quick rides to their rooms.

As for those that don’t have access to tampons, biko, sister, did your tampon-less marathon generate free pads for them? NO!
I feel there are ways she should have gone about this.
Like raising money through donations to buy free sanitary towels for women who can’t afford it or homeless women. It never crosses the mind of some organizations and individuals to donate these products and they are in high demand. I don’t know how running with blood tickling down your legs makes things easier. She literally just ruined those workout pants.
The scent of blood mixed with scent of sweat is a very big issue.

THIS IS FEMINISM GONE TO FAR!

Earlier this year in March a young artist named Elonë took to the streets of Germany and displayed (clean) menstrual pads on street corners with a goal of “putting social issues into perspective.” One of her pads went viral:

Imagine if men were as disgusted with rape as they are with periods.”

Now this was something I kinda agreed with it.

While I understand Gadhi’s perspective, I WOULD NEVER mimic her same sentiments. I embrace everything that is natural about my female body, menstrual cycle included. But would I bleed freely in a public place to advocate for it? No. I just happen to prefer to not have blood inconveniently dripping down my leg, you know? To me, using a tampon is for sanitary purposes, not a gauge on whether or not I am embarrassed by my womanhood or embrace it.

WE ALL BLEED.
WE KNOW IT’S THERE.
SOMETIMES FOR THREE DAYS.
SOMETIMES FOR ONE WEEK.
WE USE OUR TAMPONS.
ONE OR TWO AT A TIME.
DEPENDING ON THE FLOW.
WE WISH THERE WAS AN EASIER WAY.
BUT WE ARE WOMEN AND PROUD WE ARE – with our tampons of course.
IT’S DAMN TOO PERSONAL.

Back to the India Case, I find it very disturbing. We all ain’t moving at the same space you know. Some are so ahead while others are way behind. And while I think the India case is a hybrid of culture and religion which is very difficult to tackle, I’m of the opinion that it’s really barbaric in nature. But instead of running without tampons, talking and discussing these issues with actions inclusive is a way better alternative.

So LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, what are your thoughts? You think she took the game too far? Can you do same?

