image

Today is 1st of October!!!
Nigeria is 55 today!!!
But I am indifferent.
I don’t know how to write all those poetry and what not for Nigeria.

All I can is this; if you have not seen OCTOBER 1 by the one and only KUNLE AFOLAYAN, please go and see it.

IT IS THE BEST NIGERIAN MOVIE EVER!

image

I used #1000 (ONE GOOD THOUSAND NAIRA) to see this movie at the cinema. Ehnn, I’m stressing the ONE THOUSAND NAIRA because it is a very big deal for an ordinary NIGERIAN GIRL like me. But I don’t regret it.

Anyways, this is what I want for Nigeria :

image

My prayer. Because the way these people embezzle money is becoming unbecoming. ALL OF THEM. ALL. NO EXEMPTION.

Again, I don’t know how to do all those poetic writing. Especially when it comes to something that I’m indifferent about.

But I know how to pray and so I will pray for you.

I pray that you receive Independence in your personal life.
Spiritual Independence!
Emotional Independence!!
FINANCIAL Independence!!!

image
Throwback to Last year, October 2nd now I guess. But it was October 1 I had just finish seeing.
image
Post Update : I didn't see the movie alone, I went with this beautiful friend : UCHECHI CHERISH NELSON-ATUONWU

The late Prof. Chinua Achebe published his book THERE WAS A COUNTRY before passing into glory few years ago. He wrote abundantly about Nigeria’s independence and freedom : In the words of Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, he writes, Nigeria was given her freedom “on a platter of gold.”  We should have known that freedom should be won, not given on a plate.  Like the head of John the Baptist, this gift to Nigeria proved most unlucky.

(Don’t forget to see OCTOBER 1 If you haven’t…)

GOD BLESS NIGERIA!!!

Love xoxo

Adriel©2015

