Down Syndrome, it doesn’t mean I’m down, it means I help people who are feeling down. My smiles are contagious, my laugh is medicine for the heart, my hugs are heavenly, and my heart itself is pure gold – Quote from Anonymous.

image
Some of us...

Two hours after coming back and completely washing and scrubbing my self, the smell still remains. There’s this nexus between smell and memories. The former triggers the later. I can’t forget. Smell is a potent wizard that transports you across thousands of miles and all years you’ve ever lived – hours in my case.

The shock.

The disdain.

The disgust.

How do people live like this? Why is life so unfair? “Do not ask questions” they say. “God knows all” they agree. And so you shake your head. But deep down you are scared and in shock. You move a way when one of them try to hug you, you do not know when or how or even why you did that.

It’s not them. It’s you. You are in shock. You are different from others you came with. Others – Normal humans in general, have this ability to move past things easily, but not you. You remain fixated. Thinking. Turning. Pondering. Until the snap comes. The only way you think you will get over this a little is TO WRITE. Writing with the smell as a reminder of what it feels to be human in this world of ours.

image
Aminat

“Aunty will you also clean my room”

“Yes dear, we are going to clean all the rooms”

“What about my clothes?”

“Sure, get them, we will give it to those Washing outside”

“Aunty, please, can you help with my pots and plates also”

“Sure”

***She leaves in her wheel chair to give us way for the cleaning. The room is a mess but we clean it anyways***

I’m in shock. “How do people live like this?” I say to no one in particular. But Irete answers…

“Errm, you didn’t follow us for the last service project, this place is way better”

“WOW”

image

She comes back after few mins and ask we give her some of her goods to sell. Sweets, nylon, biscuits etc…

             ***Strength***

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The rooms were really not looking good. These people need more help, people like us who go there from time to time can’t do much. I think the government and NGO’S should do more. We can do more. We can be M.A.D for each other – MAKE A DIFFERENCE. This is what the world needs.

Why cleaning these rooms wasn’t an easy task – seeing as I was so weak at some point, I’ll do it again and again . I’m happy. I’m fulfilled. I’m Making A Difference. And I think you too can. We can.

So, if you are reading this and you feel you can give support to CHESHIRE HOME IBADAN, Please drop a comment or send me a mail at : Adrielonwukwe@gmail.com

About The Home :

Oluyole Cheshire Home Ibadan which is the first home to be established in Nigeria came into being in June 1959. It was established by the late Justice Sir Adetokunbo Ademola. It was initially situated in a rented house at College Crescent, along the then Ijebu by Pass which is now known as the Obafemi Awolowo Way, Oke-Ado, Ibadan. Later in 1968 the Home moved to its present location near the polytechnic, Ibadan, Sango-Eleyele Road.
Oluyole Cheshire Home was Established to serve as home away from home. The Home provides, in a manner compatible with the ideals of the founder, for care, treatment, education and maintenance of the physically handicapped and mentally retarded persons.
Since inception the Home has continued to take care of the disabled children, most of whom were abandoned and found on the streets by social workers and sympathizers and brought to the home.

Click here for more on CHESHIRE HOME.

image

It’s 7:07pm, I have scrubbed and washed, but the smell still remains…

I will not forget.

Love xoxo

Adriel©2015

