image
Christmas Day Shot!

Hey buddies, when you hold your phone or tablet or computer – provided there’s light and you have Megabytes, what do you do?

(My friends that are not from Nigeria, you might be wondering why I added provided there’s light, you see in Nigeria, light is a big luxury. Do you know on Christmas day there was no light.? And thing is on NEW YEAR day we may not have light. But this is story for another day).
As I was saying, what do you do when you hold your phone or tablet or computer?

This is what I do. I follow this smart men and women. I follow their blogs and I read away my pain. Most of their writings saved me this year. And they are my favorite Internet people – those I found this year. I’ll be doing a list, that would include their pictures and links to their sites. Enjoy!

1) Brittle Paper: I think I stumbled on this one late 2014/early 2015. Can’t remember now. But if you are a big fan of AFRICAN LITERATURE, then this is the place for you to be.
In her words : “I’m finishing up a PhD at Duke University where I study African novels, which I believe are some of the loveliest things ever written. Brittle Paper is the virtual space/station where I play and experiment with ideas on how to reinvent African fiction and literary culture.”
It is the #1 destination for fans of African literature.

image
This is the lady behind Brittlepaper.com. Ainehi Edoro

Follow her on twitter @Brittlepaper
Explore the world that is Brittlepaper.com and make sure to read these short stories.

**********

2) Mymindsnaps.com : This site is owned and controlled by Walter Shakespearean Ude. He writes beautifully well and to crown it all, he got into FARAFINA WORKSHOP few years ago. He is toooooo good. I enjoy everything he writes, especially his reviews on TV series.

image
Walter Ude and The Queen, Adichie.

The 2013 Farafina Class got their stories published into this beautiful anthology. You can order for your copy Here!

image

**********

3) Dorisaniunoh.blogspot.com.ng : Doris, I love this girl so much. Her crazy is good. One strong Igbo Woman. She loves her language so much and being in obodoyibo has got nothing on her. She writes about everything too. She is funny. She got into FARAFINA too, meaning she has sat and dined with Queen Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Her short story, TEACUP was published in Brittlepaper.com. You may want to follow her on Facebook too.

image
Source : Facebook. And I particularly love this picture of her.

image

***********

4) Micheal Ogah is good. He writes so well. And he is fooooiinne. For some reasons I couldn’t get the link to the blog. Can’t explain. But you can Follow him on Facebook. You would enjoy his stories. Oh, and do well to look for his videos on YouTube. One more thing, he is a lawyer!

**********

5) Ucheoma Onwutube : The lady after my heart. Her words are like honey. A friend told me about her and said “You should follow Ucheoma, she’s a contemporary writer, just like you”. First of all, I don’t even see my self as one. And likening me to Ucheoma I would say was a big blow. I’ve got nothing on her. I clicked on the link he sent me and I was hooked. I knew I had to make her acquaintance and so I added her on Facebook.

image

On Christmas Day we had a little chat and she said something to me : Just continue. You’d find your unique voice one day. Those words gave me hope. We talked about books and she didn’t hesitate to send some of her favorite to my mail. Enough of the touching stories. Please visit the following links and get drunk in her wisdom.
Ucheomar.wordpress.com and her writings on Happenings.com.ng

**********

6) Abiodun Kuforiji Nkwocha ; She writes at Sabinews.com. And she also got into FARAFINA!

**********

7) Akweke Emezi : One of a kind.

image

Visit her Www.azemezi.com and follow her on FACEBOOK. I’ll let you do the discovery yourself.

**********

8) Yagazie Emezi : Younger sister to Akweke Emezi. Follow her on FACEBOOK, you’ll get all the links to her websites there. And make sure you watch all her YouTube videos. She draws so well. Make sure you enjoy visiting her space. LOL!

**********

9) Okechukwu Amako : Okey was a stranger turned friend and in the process we discovered we were from the same place. He first commented on one of my blog posts and from talking we realized we were both UI students, we met and viola! He is a medical student, final year but his fascination for literature and science and technology intrigues me. He has this wide global perspective to everything. A very brilliant young man.

image
Beard Gang!

Check out his science-ish blog Here and Www.writainment.wordpress.com

**********

10) Oyin Oludipe : “Adriel, you should meet someone”, NG my friend said. BBM pins were exchanged and gradually, Oyin and I built a kind of friendship. It’s still growing. This boy loves Wole Soyinka with a kind of love. Just the way I love Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.
Follow him here. You would enjoy him if you do a lot of poetry. You can also read his work here and this interview.

image

11) Www.medium.com : Enjoy this site and get lost in it. You shall thank me.

**********

12) Writersdigest.com : INSPIRATION! TIPS! INSPIRATION!

**********

13) Zikoko.com : If you want to LAUGH away your PAIN. PLEASE stop by. A laugh a day keeps the negative people away.

**********

14) Uju Okorie : A Doctor, A good daughter of God and a wonderful writer. Another strong Igbo woman. If you want to learn and grow then please visit here.

**********

15) Sometime this year, I was CLINICALLY DEPRESSED! And this very wonderful site was one of the things that healed me. smalllifeslowlife.com. Jennifer was there for me. I hope you enjoy this place. It’s dear to me. She writes about grief, heartbreak and healing.

**********

16) Onyeka Nwelue. This guy is a bag of CONTROVERSY. He makes my Facebook timeline interesting though. Couldn’t get a direct link. But you may want to use this Thread.

image

Onyeka Nwelue (born 31 January 1988) is a Nigerian cultural entrepreneur,filmmakerprofessor and author who is best known for his novel  ‘The Abyssinian Boy’, which was published when he was 21 and won the TM Aluko Prize for Fiction, came second at the Ibrahim Tahir Prize for First Book, was nominated for the Future Awards and later won the Prince Claus Ticket Grant.

**********

17) Enjoy the beauty that is Joybewaji.com

18) PEN AMERICA CENTER. Click here to follow them on Facebook.

image

**********

19) Erikaglenn.com. I particularly admire this young lady. She keeps me in check. Her faith in God is encouraging. She’s a lawyer!

**********

20) KECHI OKWUCHI! KECHI OKWUCHI! KECHI OKWUCHI! she gives me hope. I love and respect her courage. Google the name Kechi Okwuchi.

Truth is I can’t put everything down here. The Internet is a very wonderful and beautiful place. All of you who have followed my blog this year are so wonderful. I take my time to go through your blogs. I get inspired with everything I see. The Internet is such a beautiful place. Few days ago an amazing girl followed me. I went through her blog, she writes beautifully well too. Here’s the link. ipeniwrite.wordpress.com

Update : Please, I observed some of the links have problems opening. I don’t know why. If you’re having such difficulty, don’t stress it, just google the names. Sorry for the inconveniences.

image

Thank You for making my blog one of your favorite places on the Internet.

Love xoxo

Adriel©2015

