image

WE DON’T GO “NATURAL”, WE RETURN. “NATURAL” IS WHERE IT ALL BEGAN! – Unknown.

“Relaxing your hair is like being in prison. You’re caged in. Your hair rules you. You didn’t go running with Curt today because you don’t want to sweat out this straightness. You’re always battling to make your hair do what it wasn’t meant to do.” – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Americanah.

image

Remember that 6months ASUU strike? That was the year I became obsessed with the AFRO! (What were you expecting an 18 year old girl to do? Six months of doing nothing was very terrible). After reading that book I knew that one day, i’ld get my hair chopped off. I got to understand that the society had defined a lot of things for us. Things that weren’t questioned. I can’t explain it. It was as though I saw a clearer path. LOL! But I was scared. I suck at decisions. And so for the next two years i’ld transition for a long period of time and have it relaxed again. But this year I transitioned for Eight months, letting the natural hair grow beneath my braids and weaves and finally chopped it off yesterday!

image

It felt so good, like a big load had been taken of my shoulders. Last night, I poured water on my hair and it felt so good. I did it. Getting all my natural hair kits together. One thing I know for sure, ain’t putting relaxers on my hair ever again.

You guys heard about Okechukwu Ofili of Ofilispeaks.com? The owner of Okada Books – you should download the app by the way. Really cool. Anyways, he wrote this book, I guess I’ll be reading it soon, once I’m done with my current read.
Afro : The Girl with the Magical Hair by Okechuckwu Ofili, is about a special girl who chooses to have natural hair in a land where an evil Queen makes everyone wear straight weaves.

image

Another book dedicated to natural hair is My Lovely Hair by Ekpemi Anni, which celebrates Nigerian hairstyles.

image

image
One of my favorite people in the world had her big chop too.

#Naturalista #NaturalHair #Au-natural #Afro #Kinky #Africanhair #Black #Hair.

So what’s your natural hair story?

image
I didn't just go NATURAL. I just decided to appreciate what I've been given...

LET IT FRO!

LET IT FRO!!

LET IT FRO!!!

Love xoxo

Adriel©2015

