image

Pain, if you let it, can be the best thing that could happen to you. That was what I learnt last year.

In pain, I found myself.
In pain, I found courage.
In pain, I found self-expression.
In pain, I found strength.
In pain, I found life.
Pain is the greatest equalizer. It demands to be felt.
Do not run this year. Stop. Face the pain. Embrace the storm. Allow yourself to break. That’s how the light gets in. That’s how it always gets in.

Last year, I learnt that FRIENDSHIP is golden. I fell in love with my closest friends. These one who were there for me through it all. I learnt that I could go the extra mile for these ones. They became family.
I learnt that friendship has splendors that love knows not. It grows stronger when crossed, whereas obstacles kill love, friendship resists time, which wearies and severs couples. It had heights unknown to love.

Last year, I learnt to never hold my self back. CUT your HAIR if you have to. Give that young man/woman a chance if you have to.

I learnt that we are cups, constantly and quietly being filled. The trick is, knowing how to tip ourselves and let the beautiful stuff out.
I learnt to listen without judging. I learnt that everyone has a story.

I learnt to love my own kind. WOMEN.
Darcey Carden taught me this : EVERY WOMAN SHOULD LET HER VOICE BE HEARD WITHOUT APOLOGIZING.

I leant that some days there won’t be a song in a your heart but you’ve got to sing anyways.

Natalie Goldberg taught me this last year : WRITE WHAT DISTURBS YOU, WHAT YOU FEAR, WHAT YOU HAVE NOT BEEN WILLING TO SPEAK ABOUT. BE WILLING TO SPLIT OPEN.

These lessons were for last year. These lessons are for ever. And so this year… Year 2016, I’ll learn more. I’ll live life. I’ll read more books and I’ll write.

These are no resolutions. These are habits and lessons from YEAR 2015. I’ll only improve on them.

I learnt that the only real love is God’s love. Like : To think you love me so much, MY LORD, and I haven’t lost my mind.

I learnt to love my God given halo : MY AFRO!

What did you learn last year? What are you going to improve on this year?

image

HAPPY NEW YEAR.

Love xoxo

ADRIEL©2016

