image
Amazing Selasi

GENRE : Prose / Fiction.
PUBLISHER : Penguin Books.
FIRST EDITION: 2013
ISBN : 978-0-670-91988-8
PAGES : 318

Hey guys, I was going to give a review on GHANA MUST GO, just the way I did with A. D. 30, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to. This book left me weak and numb, this book drained me, this book made me cry and scream “FUCK” several times. Yes. This book.
I expected something different you know, seeing as it had a causal name – GHANA MUST GO. Oh Boy! I was damn wrong. This book is 50 shades of deep. Taiye Selasi is my second Queen of Literature, Chimamanda remains Number 1! (winks).

Okay. Meet TAIYE SELASI,

Born in London and raised in Massachusetts. She holds a B.A. in America Studies from Yale and an M.Phil. in International Relations from Oxford. In 2013 she was selected as one of Granta’s Best Young British Novelist.

SHE IS A TWIN!

image

ABOUT GHANA MUST GO :

The Sais, a Nigerian-Ghanaian family living in the United States. A family prospering until the day father and surgeon Kweku Sai is the victim of a grave injustice. Ashamed, he abandons his beautiful wife Fola and their little boys and girls, causing the family to fracture and spiral out into the world – New York, London, West Africa, New England – on uncertain, troubled journeys until, many years later, tragedy unites them. Now this broken family has a chance to heal – but can the Sais take it?

****

New words :

1) Histrionic : Too emotional or too dramatic.

2) Ennui : A lack of spirit, enthusiasm or interest.

3) Puritanical : Very strict especially concerning morals and religion.

4) Kitsch : Things (such as movies or works of art) that are of low quality and that many people find amusing and enjoyable.

This book is something you have to read yourself. I can’t say more. But these are my favorite quotes and lines from the book though :

On Hair :

What kind of black girl grows lock? Black girls who go to predominantly white colleges, that’s who. Dreadlocks are black white-girl hair. A Black Power solution to a Bluest Eye problem : the desire to have long, swinging, ponytail hair…you still need a hairstyle for running in rain. Forget the secret benefit from affirmative action; this is the white woman’s privilege. Wet hair. Not to give a shit about rain on your blowout…

On Loss :

Loss is a notion. Not more than a thought. Which one forms or doesn’t. With words. Such that one cannot lose, nor ever say he has lost, what he does not permit to exist in his mind.

On Love and Relationships :

The only point of a relationship is to play out, in miniature, the whole blasted drama of life and of death. Love is born as a child is born. Love grows up as a child grows up. A man knows well that he must die, but having only known life does not believe in his death. Then, one day, his love goes cold. It’s heart stop beating. The love drops dead. In this way, the man learns that death is reality: that death can exist in his being, his own. The loss of a pet or a rose or a parent may cause the man pain but will not make the point. Death must take place on the heart to be believed in. After love dies man believes in his death.

This has to be one of the deepest things I’ve read in my life. I believe it.

****

The characters in this book are vibrant. The Sais, very convincing family, with telling problems of divided culture. The book takes you to the past and to the present. The characters in this book make you want to reach out and hug them.

She discussed the importance of Fathers and their roles in the family. Kweku left and his family fell apart, see what Taiwo and Kehinde had to go through. I loved how she discussed the Nigerian Civil War and the Ghana Must Go experience, when Nigerian Government sent out almost 2million Ghanaian immigrants. Subtle touch yet profound and will get you thinking.

The inter cultural marriage was also complicated. The children having parents from two different countries. Fola herself having an Igbo mother whom she never knew. And there’s Ola who got married to an Asian. I loved what she did with all those.

image

I’m done. Go the nearest bookshop and buy GHANA MUST GO! (Not the bag o… Ha Ha Ha)
If you’re a big fan of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Zadie Smith then you would love this lady and her book. She’s a complex being. Good complex.

image

On a scale of 0-5, I’ll give it a 4.0. She used plenty big grammar and plenty Grammatical structure. I had to read some pages twice to get the information. Lol. I love her work all the same.

Taiye Selasi is a brilliant writer, I recommend. Taiye Selasi has broken me, I’m in Love.

image

Love xoxo

Adriel©2016

