image

Hello beautiful people!

So there’s this beautiful woman who helped an abandoned child. The news read :

DANISH WOMAN RESCUES LITTLE BOY WHO WAS ACCUSED OF WITCHCRAFT AND LEFT TO DIE IN UYO.


Anja Ringgren Loven, a Philanthropist and founder of African Children’s Aid Education and Development Foundation ( ACAEDF) who lives with her partner and son in Uyo (Nigeria) rescued a little boy who had been abandoned by his family because they claimed he was a ‘witch’. She took him into her care, fed him, gave him clothes and he is currently receiving some medical attention.

First thing you’ll notice when you see Anja are the tattoos on her hands and her legs. The average Nigerian Christian would see this lady and condemn her right away. A friend on Facebook, Hymar David, said this :

Her body is tattooed
.
But her mind and her heart is pure.
.
Not like some fools parading as Christians who will waste my time debating about how biblical my tattoo is but will never help the poor.
.
God bless the hearts of all men and women like her.
.
I pity our ignorance.

image

****

And I had this big smile on my face when I saw this cos it reminded me of a certain Christian man I worked with. I was with a senior friend when I saw the post on Anja and he too knows about this Christian man I worked with and I told him I’ll do a blog post about it, in relation to the BLESSING that is Anja Ringgren Loven.

****

During the 2013 ASUU strike, I told my dad that I wanted to do my internship in a law chamber, rather than wasting the whole break.

“I know this Godly friend of mine who is an accomplished lawyer, I’d rather you work there than work with all the other people who aren’t really Christians”

The dad had spoken, I figured out he knew better, I mean, what did I know. Lol. And so we went and I started work. I won’t bore you with the details, but I’ll let you know that I became friends with all the workers including his driver. I’ll call him Mr. X.

During one of the free times, Mr. X and I got talking and he began telling me about this Christian man. He said he was tired of working for this man. He was only looking for a better place and if he found one he would disappear. I asked why and he began listing. The one that really got to me was this one :

Do you know that when Oga and I travel, he eats in a restaurant with big chicken and all that and gives me #200 to buy coke and gala or something.

And I thought, what will happen if you buy same food for this man. Mr. X told me a whole lot of things. I mean it’s the little things that matter.

I was disappointed. I wish I could tell you all more about this godly man.

Cos that wasn’t Christianity. There’s only a thin like between being principled and being wicked. To hell with your principles. To hell with your ideologies. To hell with your doctrine. To hell with the Christians of today : gloomy faces, long faces, dark hearts.

****

The teachings of Christ are so basic :

Matthew 25 :34 Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’
37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’
41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’
44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’
45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’
46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

****

Christianity is practical. Salvation is the foundation I know, but after you’ve been saved what next???
Don’t be quick to judge. Our hearts should be so open and beautiful to see the beauty in others. They are all around us – the helpless, the needy, the poor, that child who you see everyday who goes to school walking long distance, that church member whose house got burnt. Share this love. Jesus commands it. Enough with the condemnation and doctrines and judgemental looks.

See more of Anja’s story at http://www.womenofrubies.com (PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU DO! SHE TALKED MORE ABOUT THE CHILD)

****

Finally, biko, what’s really wrong with these people that tag children as WITCHES in AkwaIbom? The government has to look into this matter. What’s the gain in tagging and labelling a child a witch and leaving them to die…killing them in fact?

May God deliver us all.

My brother would always say : The judgement day would be full of surprises…

{{{{{{{{{{KABOOOOOOOOM}}}}}}}}}}

Let’s make a difference.
Be beautiful : Inside and Outside!
Do your bit and leave the rest for God.
Try. Start. Begin. Do Something.

Love xoxo

Adriel©2016

