image
SIA

Oh SIA!

Why you do me this? Why you do me like this? Why you pierce my heart with your songs? Why you sing for me, Sia?

I tell you my problems, sia?
I specifically tell you about that time I cried my self to sleep every night?
I tell you how I struggled to move on, Sia?

No! I dinoor!!!

But Sia, somehow you knew. How you did Sia, I don’t understand! You do it for me Sia. You sing for me Sia.

You do me good Sia. You do me real good.

***

Okay.

Seriously, I love SIA! She’s such an amazing singer and you can feel the music. She’s felt love, loss, Pain and everything in between.

Sia decided to move to London to follow her first relationship with boyfriend Dan Pontifex. Several weeks later, while on a stopover in Thailand, she received the news that Dan had died after being in a car accident in London. Her 2001 album, Healing Is Difficult lyrically deals with the death of Dan: “I was pretty fucked up after Dan died. I couldn’t really feel anything. I could intellectualise a lot of stuff; that I had a purpose, that I was loved, but I couldn’t actually feel anything.” Sia recalled the effect of Dan’s death in a 2007 interview for The Sunday Times: “We were all devastated, so we got shit-faced on drugs and Special Brew. Unfortunately, that bender lasted six years for me.”

***

I just really wanted to talk about SIA. Like I had no idea what direction I wanted this post to follow, but I knew it had to be SIA-ISH.

I’ll start with the songs and put down parts of the lyrics….

ELASTIC HEART : (Telling that person, you are strong and just fine….despite the hurt and betrayal)

You did not break me
I’m still fighting for peace
I’ve got thick skin and an elastic heart
But your blade it might be too sharp
I’m like a rubberband until you pull too hard
I may snap and I move fast
But you won’t see me fall apart
‘Cos I’ve got an elastic heart

***

BURN THE PAGES : (Of Letting Go And Moving on, This song helped me)

With this song I felt Sia might just be your run-to girl, as heard on “Burn the Pages,” where she reassured a friend that they’ll be OK even if they are shedding a few post-relationship tears. And this reassurance is for everyone going through same.

Yesterday is gone and you will be OK
Place your past into a book, burn the pages Let ’em cook oh…
Yesterday is dead and gone and so today Place your past into a book, burn the pages Let ’em cook…
Eyes stinging from the black smoke, new hope Loose rope, risen from the undertow
All is well
We welcome the cry, of the dark night sky
Swallow me peacefully, follow my heart back inside
So don’t worry, don’t worry I’m here by your side By your side, by your side
We’re letting go tonight!

EYE OF THE NEEDLE (Of loss…)

Take me down
I’m feeling now
And if I move on
I admit you’re gone
And I ain’t ready
And I’ll hold steady
Yeah I’ll hold you in my arms
In my arms, in my arms
And you’re locked inside my heart
And your melody’s an art
And I won’t let the terror in, I’m stealing time
Through the eye of the needle

***

The songs in her last album 1000 forms of fear were amazing!!!
I could go on and on and on and on. I remember thinking once “SIA isn’t beautiful” but then I thought later “What is beautiful actually? Who defines this beauty?” and with that I took my first thought back. Sia is beautiful and so is her music. She may not be the society’s definition of “Beauty” but her music is so powerful! And her voice?!

My Gwaassshh!

Her songwriting is honest, she fuses strong melodies and distinct (and textured) vocals to create the beauty that is her music.

***

image
Album Cover!

And now, her new album is out – THIS IS ACTING and so far I’ve been enjoying it.

I love how SIA speaks to me through her music and how her lyrics helped me heal few months ago.

Like I said I had no idea what I wanted to do with this post, I just wanted to talk about SIA and I think I’ve just done that.

Love xoxo

Adriel©2016

