image

My people? How was your Saturday?
I spent the better half of my Saturday morning walking to support the IREDE FOUNDATION! My legs hurt terribly now but it was worth it.

Let me tell you all a story, when I was four, I woke up one morning to discover that I couldn’t walk anymore. My legs were terribly bent  my parents just couldn’t understand the sudden turn of events, I was carried to school and carried in school too. I remember going to orthopedic hospitals and I remember the different prayer sections. Thing is, the leg became fine, but not completely, I still walk with my legs apart but I’m grateful nonetheless.
Now, this is not the case for so many people out there.

It is estimated that at least 200 million children are born with a disability or become disable before the age of 19 with over 70% in developing countries*. Without access to adaptation assistive tools, 90% of the children in the developing world like Nigeria may never have access to education, employment, marriage or even live a self-supportive lifestyle.

About IREDE FOUNDATION :

The IREDE Foundation is a non governmental organization focused on lending a hand of Love, Joy and Hope to children living with limb loss knowing there are no limits to their potential.

The IREDE Foundation was founded in 2012 by Crystal Chigbu , Mother of IREDE Beulah Chigbu, born with a missing tibia and patella of her right leg. Crystal and her husband, Zubby were told that the only option for Beulah for a functionally mobile life was amputation and prosthesis. It took over 2 years for Crystal and Zubby to accept the reality, have the surgery and give Beulah prosthetic leg.

The experience inspired the birthing of The IREDE Foundation. In the 2years of existence The IREDE Foundation has provided 16 limbs for children across Nigeria. Raising awareness of amputation in the developing world with over 2000 people reached across Nigeria.

image
Mrs. Chigbu and daughter.
image
Beulah Irede Chigbu

MISSION

To provide encouragement and empowerment to children living with congenital and acquired limb loss so they can confidently live a self-sufficient and fulfilled life; free of limitations and societal stigmatization.

Out on a Limb is designed to raise awareness about child amputees and the need to adequately care for them. Objectives of the walk The overall objective of the OUT ON A LIMB is Create awareness and increase knowledge about child amputees in different communities and Raise fund to provide prosthesis limb for 30 children. This walk took place in 30 different locations across the world.

image

In Ibadan, a good number of people turned up. We walked from the main gate of the University Of Ibadan to the Bodija Market and then to a place called Oshutokun and continued to Awolowo and back to the Bodija Market and back to the school gate/trans-amusement park.

Pictures below.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
With Mr. Osho, the Ibadan coordinator for The IREDE Foundation.

image

image

image
Mr. Osho giving a talk.

image

image
Me. After the long walk. See my teeth.

I’m happy I did this. I’m happy to be part of this.
If you want to contact the organization please visit http://www.theiredefoundation.org ; or inbox me for more details. You can volunteer or help in cash and in kind. Let’s help 30 young people.

Love xoxo

Adriel©2016

