image

On the third day, we were told to bring an object or objects to life in a room that we spend a lot of time in and speak from its perspective about what it has observed about us. Maybe it has seen our joys, heart breaks, the lies we’ve told, our successes, our fears and so on… What do we look like to a thing you barely notice.

I really had no idea what to write on. I wrote and cancelled and deleted until I finally settled for THE BOX.

Like a calm puppy, I sit on top the cupboard where you have placed me. And I think about the first time we met. It was a warm Friday evening, everyone was gathered at your father’s house to wish you farewell. Your grandmother had just given me to you as a gift. For Ibadan she said. Five years on and I dare say; you are a keeper. I have experienced your neglect and your care. Times when you leave me up there for months without cleaning. And those rare moments when you bring me down, dusting carefully. I have seen you lie. You pretend to take me home but you take me to his home. I have seen you cry. When you dragged me out of his home. Cursing, just after he said it was over.
In three months time, you’ll bring me down from this high place. You will pour five years of pain, joy, sorrow and happiness into me. And you will take me home.

***

There were some poems by others that I really loved.

Most people wrote about the MIRROR. I didn’t even think of it. Hahahahah!

image

image

And we have the one that wrote about the wall. Really cool yeah?

image

And King hubris who wrote about his Laptop…

image

Uyiose wrote about one of the most important things ever!!! DIARY! I really really really loved it.

image

This window poem!! This boy is such a beautiful poet.

image

And there are people who wrote about their BED(S) with such grace!

image

Awww!!! Praying Mat. Really beautiful.

image

And the bed again….

image

***
I really loved every bit of Day 3. The sheer creativity of people is so overwhelming. Isn’t it cool how two people can write about the same thing yet write about it differently???

For poetry and art and creativity and Titilope Sonuga, I’m grateful!!!

Now, If you were to try this workshop what object would you bring to life????

Love and Plenty Sunshine

xoxo

Adriel©2016

