image
Me. Today. At the Summit.

Hey beautiful people! This is me taking a break from the poetry series to post this.
Quick question, have you ever been so broke that you start looking for ways to make money ASAP?!?

I was in that situation few weeks ago. I had spent a little more than I planned and I knew calling home wasn’t an option. I saw this essay competition that was being organized in school and I applied. The price money wasn’t very fabulous but it was enough to at least get my hair done, eat and even subscribe for the internet. I knew I had to win. I wrote the essay and then re-wrote. To cut the long story short, I won. I came THIRD. To think one of the criteria was punctuality. I came late. I’m pretty sure I would have been the FIRST if I had been punctual. I’m happy and I’m fulfilled. It’s just an essay of 500 words on leadership and character.

Please read and take something with you!!!

****

Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power. – Abraham Lincoln.

The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines leadership thus; the position as a leader of a group or an organization. It is the ability to lead other people. Based on this premise, one can say that with leadership comes power.

The historian and moralist, Lord Acton, in a letter to Bishop Mandell Creighton in 1887 wrote; “Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Great men are almost always bad men”. But I beg to differ from his opinion because power does not corrupt people, people corrupt power. And this can only happen when people with weak characters are in power and in leadership positions.

Character matters; it has everything to do with leadership because good character is the most important balance for leadership. Character has been defined as the way an individual thinks, feels, and behaves. Character is possibly the most important characteristic of a leader.
Successful leadership is not about being tough or soft, sensitive or assertive, but about a set of attributes and traits. These character traits determine everything because they question leadership abilities and ask lot of questions; will you stand for equity? Will you wilt under pressure? Will you bend or emerge stronger? Are you are person of integrity, firm but yet encouraging? Are you competent, basing actions on reason and moral principles? Will you display confidence in all that you do, by showing mental, physical stamina? Will you indulge the capacity and the will to rally men and women to a common purpose? Will you seek and nurture the diversity in the people you lead and at the same time show fair treatment to all people? Will you use your imagination; making appropriate changes in your thinking, plans, and methods and showing creativity by thinking of new and better goals, ideas, and solutions to problems? These and so much more are the questions that should be asked and scrutinized in individuals who want to take up leadership roles.

Character matters because leadership descends from true character.

Mikhail Gorbachev, a former Soviet statesman, had the courage, tenacity and strength of character to give up the absolute power of Soviet Communism. He moved the Soviet Union to democracy and respect for human rights. Gorbachev enabled the Berlin Wall to come down giving freedom to Eastern Europe. He is often referred to as one of the most noteworthy world leaders.

The most crucial and the most important time for a leader to show their true worth is in the face of adversity and Winston Churchill managed to shine at the task. He was an able leader, an emotional man but his greatest victory was in his motivation for others to defend themselves against the Nazis. ‘Keep Calm And Carry On’, he said, and won the war and the hearts.

Character has a lot to do with leadership; to subtract the former from the latter is to destroy a society.

image
This is me again!!! And I'm happy. My hair is growing. I won an essay. I believe.

Love and Plenty Sunshine

xoxo

Adriel©2016

