wp-1492719248542.png

I’m stalking writers and on-line book stores on Instagram when I say out loud “I really want to read this Stay With Me”. Chinelo, my friend, but technically my sister hears this and says “I’m getting it for your birthday”.

It’s almost a month since I turned 23 and she has been thinking of the “perfect” birthday gift. Books will continue to be one of the binding forces between Chinelo and I. When I turned 22, she got me a cake and Chika Unigwe’s NIGHT DANCER and when she turned 22, I got her THE HELP by Kathryn Stockett and 12 cup cakes.

I ordered for the book from an on-line book store; ROVINGHEIGHTS – Please click here to follow them on Instagram. They mentioned I was going to get it first thing the following morning and when even though I got it in the afternoon, I’m still in awe with the packaging and the brain behind ROVING HEIGHTS.

Tobi is the brain behind Roving Heights books. When she called saying she was at my office with the book I wasn’t around, Chinelo had to pick it up for me. I called later to tell her I had gotten it and she mentioned her office was on the 4th floor in the same building where I worked. (Roving Heights is her personal business. She works a 9-5)

What a Wawu!!!

I was excited and when I got back to work, I quickly went down to see her. She works in a beautiful consulting firm with cool art decors and she is beautiful. I was excited because this young girl turned her love for books into a profitable business. I was inspired. I talked to her about my bookish dreams and before I knew it I was literally interviewing her.

wp-1492719376758.png
Just because I wanted it in Black and White.

So about Ayobami Adebayo and her book Stay With Me.

On the 3rd Day of April 2017 the shortlist of Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was announced and Ayobami Adebayo’s debut novel Stay with Me was on it. This makes her the fourth African ever, in the prize’s twenty-one-year existence, to be shortlisted, joining Nigeria’s Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (in 2004 for Purple Hibiscus, in 2007 when she won for Half of a Yellow Sun, and in 2014 for Americanah), Sierra Leonean-Scottish Aminatta Forna (in 2011 for The Memory of Love), and Ghanaian-Canadian Esi Edugyan (in 2012 for Half Blood Blues). Like Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie in 2004, Ayobami is the only debut novelist on the list. The 2017 winner will be announced on June 7 at the Royal Festival Hall in London.

Ayobami Adebayo was born in 1988 in Lagos, Nigeria. Her stories have appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, and one was highly commended in the 2009 Commonwealth short story competition. She holds BA and MA degrees in Literature in English from Obafemi Awolowo University. Ayobami also has an MA in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia where she received an International Bursary for Creative Writing. She was a 2012 OMI fellow at Ledig House, New York and a 2015 Hedgebrook writer in residence. She works as a fiction editor for Saraba Magazine.

I wish her the BEST!

wp-1492719346191.png

Chimdinma,

This is one more addition to the growing Library. I hope you learn a thing or two from it.

All my Love.

“Nwangwu” Chinelo V.

 

wp-1492719388465.png

Let The Reading Begin!!! ( Remember to stop here —->>> https://rhbooks.com.ng/ for great African Literature)

Love and Light Guys

Love and Light.

