hillsong photo

I’ve had this post in my draft since forever. Lagos won’t let me do a complete post. I had to squeeze out time to write this. Which involved leaving the office by 7pm.

Lagos. The city that makes you forget you have to observe your quiet time. You get up by 4:00am and get home by 9:00pm.

But Hillsong makes things easier for me. I do not know what my spiritual life would have been like if I did not know the lyrics of most Jesus Culture, Hillsong and Bethel Music songs by heart.

They make this complicated thing called religion so easy. I just cry listening to their song.

I usually commute to work using the BRT bus. Not the red ones that made me stop using them for my journey back home, but the white ones. And these white buses all have tiny TV sets in them. Random stuff are usually displayed on the screen – from WAP TV’s PAPA AJASCO to MUSICAL VIDEOS. I’m usually not comfortable with the videos. Naked girls, scantly dressed girl shaking their buttocks, dirty lyrics, meaningless lyrics. I feel ashamed sometimes. Like I’m the one who is scantly dressed and shaking what is left of my buttocks to the public. I do not know If I’m the only one who feels this way.

Usually when these songs come up, I use my earphones, play HILLSONG or ELEVATION WORSHIP or PASSION or …

And because I know most of the lyrics by heart, I find myself singing them whenever I’m idle, cooking, busy, working, washing…especially in the bathroom….and before I realize what’s happening, I’m meditating and sing-praying with the words.

I always feel sanctified. purified.

And In this world where every where stinks of chaos, where even I feel so ashamed of myself, the things I’ve done…this sanctification is gold.

Hillsong helps me.

I like to think of myself as a HILLSONG COLLECTOR. I have all of their songs from way back. Thanks to YouTube.

But I’ll be talking about their 2016/2017 Album; LET THERE BE LIGHT.

LET THERE BE LIGHT is the 25th live album of Hillsong Worship, which consists of several worship pastors from Australian church Hillsong Church. The album was recorded during the 2016 Hillsong Conference at the Qudos Bank Arena from 4 July until 7 July 2016 and was released on 14 October 2016, under Hillsong Music, Sparrow Records and Capitol Christian Music Group.

Their music captures the heart and sound of Hillsong Church globally and represents the coming together of the Hillsong worship team from around the world; including Reuben Morgan, Marty Sampson, Joel Houston, Brooke Ligertwood, Ben Fielding, Taya Smith, Dave Ware, Annie Garratt and many more.

In their words;

“We have an unshakable belief in the power of Jesus Christ. Despite the pain, sorrow and tension of this world, Jesus is not threatened by the darkness. He has no rival. He has no equal. He is the light of the world and the hope of humanity.”

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL NAME was the first song I listened to from the album. I remember sitting at the back of the car on my way to work one morning In January getting lost in the powerful lyrics. Hillsong constantly makes BOLD the name of JESUS. In this song, one can constantly hear the affirmations;

What a beautiful Name it is
What a beautiful Name it is
The Name of Jesus Christ my King

What a beautiful Name it is
Nothing compares to this
What a beautiful Name it is
The Name of Jesus
The second and third chorus would go further to replace beautiful with wonderful and powerful respectively.
Beauty” evokes the tenderness of His love and the sweetness of His presence.
Wonder” speaks to our gratitude for salvation, awe at the lengths of His sacrifice.
Power” affirms His supremacy and Sovereignty—an exhortation to remember our access to the power of God in every situation, as we call upon and declare the Name of Jesus.

“You didn’t want heaven without us
So Jesus, You brought heaven down
My sin was great, Your love was greater
What could separate us now

You have no rival, You have no equal
Now and forever, Our God reigns
Yours is the Kingdom, Yours is the glory
Yours is the Name, above all names”

They make the love of God real, so close, tangible.

In the past God spoke to our ancestors through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son” (Hebrews 1:1-2, NIV)

Another favourite from the Album is AS IT IS IN HEAVEN;

I know You love me
I know You found me
I know You saved me
And Your grace will never fail me
And while I’m waiting
I’m not waiting
I know Heaven lives in me
So I will sing like I will there
In the fearless light of glory
Where the darkness cannot find me
And Your face is all I see
Oh I will sing like a man
With no sickness in my body
Like no prison walls can hold me
I will sing like I am free
We’ll sing Holy, Holy
The earth, cries Holy
As it is, in Heaven
So let it be
Isn’t it beautiful to know that HEAVEN LIVES IN US? One can see the connection from the What A Beautiful Name Lyrics; You didn’t want heaven without us, So Jesus, You brought heaven down. 
What I understand is this; we are simply God’s representative here on earth. We are living the heavenly life here through his light. WE ARE THE LIGHT AND HEAVEN IS IN US ALREADY!
And what Taya Smith did with her voice at the end of the song gives me the CHILLS every single time!
***
Another favourite; CROWNS
And all my wealth is in the cross
There’s nothing more I want
Than just to know His love
My heart is set on Christ
And I will count all else as loss
The greatest of my crowns
Mean nothing to me now
For I counted up the cost
And all my wealth is in the cross

 

According to the Song Story for this Song;

The reality is that the treasures of this world are a fickle thing to wage our trust on. If we find our value in the accolade of others, what will we do if their words fall quiet? If our identity lies in a triumph or a title, what will we be if it’s taken away? There is no peace of mind with riches. There are no guarantees in gold. The only true hope lies in an unassuming emblem of little earthly value but unrivaled heavenly worth. For even the greatest of our crowns and every trophy of our merit is rendered worthless when compared to the wealth that’s in the cross.

***
Other songs from the Album include; Behold, Love so great, Look to the Son, Your word, In Control, Grace to Grace, Elohim, I will boast in Christ…
And I love every single one of them.
***
I hope you all allow the LIGHT into your hearts…
Love and Light Guys…
xx
