image
That's KUSH! My Red Boo!

Hey guys…

You all know I’m a BOOK NERD.
I finished reading KEEPING FAITH by JODI PICOULT on Monday. Spent almost one month on it, school and sleep won’t let me but I’m done now. And I’m on to the next – AND THE MOUNTAINS ECHOED by KHALED HOSSEINI.

Keeping Faith is a GREAT BOOK. Have you seen the movie MY SISTER’S KEEPER? If yes, the movie was adapted from a book written by JODI PICOULT. And if you’ve not seen it, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

image

I’ll be putting down some sentences that got to me. Enjoy!

Years ago when I found Colin in bed with another woman, I waited three nights and then tried to kill myself…the ER doctors told him they had been able to save me, but that isn’t true. Somehow that night, I got lost. I became another person, one I do not like to hear about, one I would certainly not recognize. I could not eat, I could not speak… My mind was frozen on a single thought : If Colin didn’t want me anymore, why should I?

image
From the movie : HALF OF A YELLOW SUN.

The picture has said it all. TRUTH BY THE QUEEN, CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE.

I Know, it hurts to feel rejected, like you begin to think so less of your self. You ask “Who’s going to want me now?” “Wasn’t I good enough?” But take your time baby. Take your time. Mariah’s mother told her :

For God’s sake, Mariah, get over yourself. Get dressed, brush your hair, act like a normal woman, and before you know it, you won’t be acting anymore.

This is me with my little wealth of experience saying : The notion that you are not enough is a lie. Somebody said or did something to you that make you feel like you are not enough and that’s not true. You are enough. More than enough. You are everything that you need to be. You are exactly who you need to be.

ON WEDDINGS AND DIVORCE :

It seems impossible that a wedding can take a year to plan but a divorce is final in six weeks – as if all the time in between, the feelings have been dwindling to the point where they can be scattered with one angry breath.

I wonder if I’m supposed to keep this paper (Divorce paper) in my safe-deposit box, nestled beside my marriage licence and my passport, but it is hard to imagine so many years fitting into such a tiny space.

ON MOTHERHOOD :

I wonder if other mothers feel a tug at their insides, watching their children grow up into the people they themselves wanted so badly to be.

Motherhood isn’t a test. But a religion: a covenant entered into, a promise to be kept.

Suddenly Mariah wonders if moments like this are what qualify you as a good parent: realizing that no matter how you try, you will not be able to protect a child from the tragedies or the missteps or the nightmares. Maybe the job of a mother is not to shelter but to bear witness as  child hits full force and then to cushion the fall when it’s over.

ON LOVE :

…She knows that truth can cause a sharp pain behind your eyes and that love sometimes feels like a fist around your throat.

…And then then vision would clear and she would only see love, a well so deep that you could try and try and never know it’d bottom, but only suck in your breath at its frightening depth.

Passion comes from the Latin word PASSIO – TO SUFFER. Wondering if all love – earthly or divine is certain to hurt.

ON TRAGEDY :

The thing about tragedy is that it huts suddenly, with all the power and fury of a hurricane.

These ones got to me…

So this is me recommending KEEPING FAITH. A blend of Law, Medicine and Religion in one book. One book. Finally, I get to cross it off my book list.

image
Jodi Picoult

What are you currently reading and what book did you just finish reading?

Love xoxo

Adriel©2015